Misquoted

I’m afraid I’ve been badly misquoted on page 5 of this week’s Barrhead News.

The story pertained to last week’s arson attack which destroyed parts of the children’s’ play park, which was less than a year old, where we (used to) spend a lot of time.

According to the article, what I said was
“I was in the park playing with my daughter when these two people far too old to even be in a park heard my accent, and started calling me every name under the sun.”

What I actually said to reporter Sean Rooney was
“I was in the park playing with my daughter when two neds who were far too old to even be in a play park took umbrage to my accent, and started calling me “you fucking American” this and that. I have been called every name under the sun in this country, that’s just how it goes here, but to be followed around a play park being shouted abuse at in front of my child was something else.”

I’m disappointed that the Barrhead News has chosen to drink the “Place To Grow” kool-aid and water down what was a very difficult experience for us as a family. They make it sound as if Jack and Victor had a go at me with a giggle. I had my kid sobbing her heart out because “the boys were mean to mummy.” That does not happen because of simple name-calling, or what the paper chose to diminish as “verbal abuse by hooligans.”

The truth sucks, guys, and watering it down for sensitive dispositions won’t make it any better.

Sorry to diverge into personal matters, readers. Normal service will resume shortly.

 

Leave a Reply

